top of page

Steph Curry nearly ruined my relationship!

Women love an athlete; be it a footballer, boxer, rugby player or a professional chess player. Being a professional basketball player isn't as glamorous as a lot of people may let on. It provides no advantage to your social life and cannot be used as a conversation filler (conversations with people quickly end when they find out how much I get paid, it turns into a personal horror story).

However, the smooth guy that I am (or like to tell myself to help me sleep at night), I thought that it would be a good idea to use the 'Im an athlete' to a girl I really liked... and it worked. Now conversations took a left turn when she asked how good I was in comparison to Steph Curry. Has someone ever asked you a question and you smile at them but deep down your chest is burning?

There were two responses I could have given her in that moment:

1. be the honest gentleman and tell her I couldn't shoot like him in my dreams with a full dose of Night Quil. I'd need that magic ball the aliens used from space jam or the trainers in Like Mike combined to even be considered a challange.

2.Shake my peacock feathers and tell her alternative facts: something along the lines of "Stephany (use girls name for dramatic effect) has nothing on me"

Being the nice and lovely gentlemen I am, I went and chose the second option. Don't judge me I'm a businessman. Its in my nature to hype things up and sell them. Either way she was intrigued and wanted to see how British Basketball had been flying under her radar for so long. BOY, was I going to show her why!

She came to the next game I invited her to, which was her first mistake because it's a game you couldn't be unseen. What she witnessed she couldn't hide it for the rest of her life. My coach didn't do me any favours by starting on the bench. I was just looking at him like...

She then realised I wasn't one of the 'key' players. I didn't get on till the second quarter. My coach, didn't make the situation any better by swearing at me the whole time I was in for the mistakes I made. All of this resulted to me getting fouled out in the middle of the last quarter. As a true sports man I threw a tantrum, left the bench, threw my gum shield and stormed to the showers.

After, I showered the shame off my body and made my way to leave the arena thinking she left after my horrible game. On my way out I heard, 'I don't think Steph Curry turns over the ball that much'. I smiled and turned to her thinking I should have told her I used played semi-pro football but my knee started playing up.

bottom of page